Serving Montana Agriculture and growing prosperity under the Big Sky

Potato Research & Market Development Grant

The Montana Potato Research & Market Development Program was created by a vote of potato producers following a process outlined in the Agricultural Commodity Research and Market Development Enabling Act (MCA 80-11-5).

The Potato Research & Market Development Program is administered by the Montana Department of Agriculture, which receives advice from the seven member Montana Potato Advisory Committee. The committee invites proposals to fund demonstration projects, applied research and market development projects designed to address Montana's potato industry needs and opportunities.

Montana Potato Advisory Committee

Board Members

Potato Committee
Name Contact Info Term End Qualifications
Paul Streich
295 Middle Road
Kalispell, MT 59901
3/1/2022 Chair, Producer
Tim Venhuizen
Vice Chair
84 Midway
Manhattan, MT 59741
3/1/2023 Vice Chair, Producer
Jonathan Schutter 3821 Wooden Shoe Road
Manhattan, MT 59741
3/1/2022 Producer
Bill Buyan 83 Ramshor South
Sheridan, MT 59749
3/1/2023 Producer
Dave Cottom P.O. Box 445
Dillon, MT 59725
3/1/2023 Producer
Tim Lake 35243 Minesinger Trail
Polson, MT 59860
3/1/2024 Producer


Dept. of Agriculture
PO Box 200201
Helena, MT 49620


Agriculture Director, Statutory Appointment

Potato Program News